Auditing University Courses as a High School Student

As a high school student who is somewhat advanced in certain subjects, I’ve been enjoying auditing university courses at the University of Toronto. Not only have I learnt a lot about the subjects I’ve audited, I’ve also met lots of interesting people and learned a lot about University life.

Up to this point, no professor has refused to let me audit their course. In fact, they’ve all been very friendly, although the ones that teach higher level courses are often concerned that I’ll “confuse myself.” (The professor of 237 was very adamant that math is like a house and needs firm foundations before it can be built higher. He’s probably right… But I think that a lot of people have a firm (enough) foundation before the powers that be notice this.)

So far, that hasn’t been a problem. In fact, I’ve found that most of the content is fairly straight-forward, and the lectures are much more interesting than high-school ones (probably because I don’t already know the content…). The one thing that did throw me off a little were some unfamiliar notations I ran into when I started MAT237 (multi-variable calculus).

I would encourage any fellow `advanced’ high-school students to do this as well.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 466 other followers

