Reflections on Magnetic Fingernails

Yesterday, my last magnetic fingernail came off. (You can see Leigh apply them here.) I’d worn it for a month, give or take a few days.

When I put it on, it felt very odd — I’d tap my fingernail on something and the bump on it would be the only thing that touched and if  I put my finger near something magnetic or ferromagnetic, there was a slight tug or push on my finger nail. It’s a very different sensation since the generally outward force is centred at the middle of the nail.

However, I think having it off feels even more odd. The texture of my nail isn’t smooth acrylic polymer. There’s no more bump. There’s no more tug when I set my fingernail against metal. And when I reflexively tap my fingernail to my metal keychain (like I did a few minutes ago) or change (only some coins are ferromagnetic, and not necessarily all of the same kind have the same composition) to pick it up, my hand is the only thing that rises.

It’s remarkable how the human mind adapts.

Oh, and I never ruined any credit cards!

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Reflections on Magnetic Fingernails”

  1. roguesophia Says:

    Magnetic fingernails! I never knew such a thing existed, but I would love to get a set!

    I am a beginning transhumanist, so this is exciting!

    • christopherolah Says:

      Well, Leigh was the one who came up with the idea and that was only a few months ago! People have been doing subdermal magnet implants for a little while though (these have health risks if the silicone breaks, however, although they’re much more sensitive — people report being able to detect electric currents and identify the frequency with them). There aren’t magnetic fingernail kits, but the only supplies necessary for the nails are small magnets and a nail kit.

      You may want to consider only doing a few nails, though, so that you have a non-magnetic hand.

  2. roguesophia Says:

    I knew about the implants, having found transhumanism through (can’t spell her name)’s talk on body hacking. Thus began my journey. I think I’ll try it. Having another sense would be very interesting/fun. And I’d have to have a non-magnetic hand because I work with computers a lot.

Leave a Reply

